Training overview


In the UK, 1 in 5 think about suicide in their life

Which means there are 4 people who can help.


1 in 4 experience mental ill health in their life

Which means there is nothing unusual about having difficulties with mental health.


1 in 15 attempt suicide in their life

Through education and training, we can better reach out to people when they’re at their most vulnerable.

About Our Courses

With a place on our training you can become better prepared and equipped to help someone in difficulty with:

  • Suicide
  • Mental health
  • Self-harm

Whether you’re a professional or community member, our training can help you provide practical support within your group, organisation, or community. We know that some of our training saves lives.

Our public courses are mostly held in Brighton & Hove, with in-house courses delivered across the UK. Our courses have a duration from 90 minutes to 2 days. Around 1,000 people a year attend our training.

Our Real Talk workshops are free to access. Subsidised places on other courses may be available if you work or volunteer locally with vulnerable people. You can see the full subsidy criteria here.

Whatever you pay, all our training is cost-effective and time-efficient.

Training for your organisation

We can deliver a suicide prevention, mental health or self-harm training course to your team in a venue of your choice. Or we can arrange a package of training places on our public courses. This is an effective and economical way to quickly upskill your workforce.

Click below to begin your enquiry.

Training enquiries

ASIST
Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training

Suicide prevention

2 days

A comprehensive, evidence-based and highly regarded two day course that teaches a robust and practical model of suicide intervention.

Read more about ASIST

safe TALK
Suicide Alertness For Everyone

Suicide prevention

3.5 hours

An accessible, half day course, teaching a four-part framework to provide an initial response to someone who may be at risk of suicide.

Read more about safeTALK

Suicide First Aid
SFA: Suicide First Aid

Suicide prevention

6 hours

A one day course teaching the skills needed to identify someone who may be thinking about suicide, and intervene to help create a safe plan, as a first aid approach.

Read more about SFA

Real Talk - Conversations that save lives
Essential suicide prevention for everyday heroes

Suicide prevention

90 minutes

A 90 minute awareness-raising workshop, designed to break down stigma, build confidence and get people talking openly about suicide.

Read more about Real Talk

Real Talk - Conversations that save lives
Real Talk Interactive Film

Suicide Prevention

15 – 30 minutes

Our free interactive film explores how Jason helps his flatmate Chris, who is experiencing suicidal thoughts. Influence the conversation and safely understand the effect your choices might have.

Play

View the Real Talk Interactive Film

MHFA England
Mental Health First Aid

Mental health

4 hours to 2 days

Offered as a half day and a two day course, in both Adult and Youth variants, these courses are designed for anyone who needs to learn more about mental health.

Read more about MHFA

Understanding Self-Harm
Understanding Self-Harm

Self-harm

3.5 hours

A half day workshop that explores the dynamics of self-injury and increases confidence in working with someone who self-harms.

Read more about Understanding Self-Harm

ASIST T4T
ASIST Training for Trainers

T4T

2 – 5 days

This five day residential course prepares you to present the LivingWorks ASIST workshop and become a Registered ASIST Trainer. We also run safeTALK T4T courses.

Read more about ASIST or safeTALK T4T

Some feedback from our participants…

Upcoming courses

Thu 21 Nov 2019, 9.00 am - 1.00 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Tue 26 Nov 2019, 9.00 am - 12.30 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Thu 12 Dec 2019, 9.00am - 12.30 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Mon 20 Jan 2020, 9.00 am - Tue 21 Jan 5.00 pm
Park Hotel, Diss, Norfolk
£231.50
Mon 27 Jan 2020, 9.00 am - Tue 28 Jan, 5.00 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Wed 29 Jan 2020 to Thu 30 Jan, 9.00am - 5.00pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Thu 13 Feb 2020, 9.00am - 12.30 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Wed 26 Feb 2020, 9.00 am - 12.30 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Wed 25 Mar 2020, 9.00 am - Thu 26 Mar 5.00 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Wed 27 May 2020, 9.00 am - Thu 28 Mar 5.00 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Wed 08 Apr 2020, 9.00am - 12.30 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Wed 15 Apr 2020, 9.00 am - 1.00 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Thu 16 Apr 2020 to Fri 17 Apr, 9.00am - 5.00pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Wed 20 May 2020, 9.00 am - 12.30 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Thu 11 June 2020, 9.00am - 12.30 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Wed 15 Jul 2020 to Thu 16 Jul, 9.00am - 5.00pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Thu 23 Jul 2020, 9.00 am - Fri 24 Jul 5.00 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Thu 03 Sep 2020, 9.00 am - 12.30 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Thu 10 Sep 2020, 9.00 am - 1.00 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Fri 11 Sep 2020, 9.00am - 12.30 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton
Thu 17 Sep 2020, 9.00 am - Fri 18 Sep 5.00 pm
Friends Meeting House, Brighton

Notify me about new course dates

Training enquiries

View all at Eventbrite

safeTALK Suicide Alertness For Everyone 3.5 hour training course, West Sussex, May 2015
  • Brighton & Hove City Council
  • Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • Big Lottery Fund
  • YMCA
  • Pavilions
  • Public Health England
  • The Allen Lane Foundation
  • Royal Navy